Skip top navigation

District Plans

A key policy objective set forth to promote active transportation in the state is for each Caltrans district to develop a district-level plan to identify bicycle and pedestrian needs and priority projects on or parallel to and across the state highway system, with a focus on removing barriers, closing gaps, and building complete, comfortable networks that consider the context.

District-level plans are in various stages of development. Please follow the links below to learn more about each district’s efforts.

  • District 1 - Eureka / North Coast
    Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino
  • District 2 - Redding / Northern California (Under construction)
    Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity
  • District 3 - Marysville / San Joaquin Valley (North) (Under construction)
    Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba
  • District 4 - Oakland / San Francisco Bay Area
    Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, Sonoma
  • District 5 - San Luis Obispo / Central Coast
    Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz
  • District 6 - Fresno / San Joaquin Valley (South) (Under construction)
    Fresno, (Western) Kern, Kings, Madera, Tulare
  • District 7 - Los Angeles / South Coast (Under construction)
    Los Angeles, Ventura
  • District 8 - San Bernardino / Inland Empire (Under construction)
    Riverside, San Bernardino
  • District 9 - Bishop / Eastern Sierra (Under construction)
    Inyo, (Eastern) Kern, Mono
  • District 10 - Stockton / San Joaquin Valley (Central) (Under construction)
    Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Mariposa, Merced, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne
  • District 11 - San Diego / Southern California (Under construction)
    Imperial, San Diego
  • District 12 - Irvine / Orange County (Under construction)