Skip top navigation
A group of a bicyclist in on Highway 1 along the coast in Big Sur.

District 5

District 5 stretches along California’s central coast and encompasses the Counties of Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, Monterey, San Benito, and Santa Cruz. District 5 includes larger urbanized communities and is also home to many coastal and rural communities where the state highway system serves as "main street".  The region includes agricultural and natural areas, including the rugged coastline of Big Sur, the salad bowl of Salinas Valley, vineyards and grazing lands.