Skip top navigation
El Camino Real crosswalk.

District 4

District 4 encompasses the nine counties that surround the San Francisco Bay Area, including San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Alameda, Contra Costa, Solano, Napa, Sonoma, and Marin. With nearly 8 million residents, District 4 is largely urbanized with some of the largest cities in the state including San Jose, San Francisco, and Oakland. The district is a key economic and logistics hub and also boasts world-class agricultural and natural areas.

For more information about the Caltrans District 4 Bike Plan (2018), click here.


Spring 2020 Webinar

Jan 17, 2020 at 8:00am

Announcing Spring 2020 public webinar (date tbd)

Second round online public survey coming soon

Apr 23, 2020 at 2:00pm

District 4 will be collecting a second round of public, map-based survey data. Check back in May, or contact Greg Currey for more information.

Pedestrian Plan Partner Agency Survey now available

May 28, 2020 at 2:00pm

The Survey will allow partner agencies to map their key priorities on or near Caltrans facilities, to ensure that the Pedestrian Plan is in alignment with local priorities.

See all D4 planning updates

See all District 4 documents

No district 4 events
See all events
Greg Currey
Caltrans District 4
Associate Transporation Planner
Pedestrian and Bicycle Branch